Get Around, Get Around, I Get Around (To Updating)

I’ve been busy setting up my classes for the upcoming semester and been swamped with work as well from my jay-oh-bee recently, so this blog has been neglected (plus there’s a glut of video games, both purchased and incoming, that I have to get around to). My September pre-orders should be coming in soon, and it will be a doozy. I’ve also made a pre-order for the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Veteran Package for the PS3.

This is an exclusive to Game, a UK video game boutique, and specifically only to Game Reward Card holder members as well. Luckily I’ve ordered from these guys plenty of times before, including The Witcher: Enhanced Edition (the UK version with the nice nudity, although the NA version recently got uncensored through a patch), the Far Cry 2 Collector’s Edition, and the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky Collector’s Edition, none of which could be found in the U.S.

The kicker is that unlike the Prestige Edition of the game that comes with a set of night vision goggles, this version comes with a 12″ Kotobukiya figure of Soap MacTavish, the protagonist from the first Modern Warfare, and your commanding officer in the sequel. Apparently, the figure comes with interchangeable weapon arms, with ice picks, dual .45 cal pistols, or an M14 rifle. The game itself comes in the Hardened Edition.

I think I would rather have this bad-ass limited edition figure than a fairly cheap set of NVGs, which is why I promptly canceled my Prestige edition for this one. Of course, I’m still getting a PC version, as that is my primary platform for any Call of Duty game. Nowadays though, the PC version of a cross-platform game is always the one to get shafted by not receiving any special edition (Batman – Arkham Asylum, Resident Evil 5, Assassin’s Creed 2 all come to mind). It’s teeth-grinding for a special edition whore like me, being forced to choose between my favorite platform or the extra goodies (or just caving in and getting both, in which case my wallet is the victim).

Anyways, I’m also receiving a nice September loot of bishoujo figures as well. The order includes:

GSC Saber Lily. This is my most anticipated figure of the bunch. Should go well with my figma Saber Lily, and the upcoming Alter Saber Lily as well.

Wave Rika and Hanyuu from Higurashi no Naku Koro ni. I’ve always liked the Higurashi series for the horror, mystery, and random humor interspersed. Hauuuuuu.

Double the Nia dosage, from upLark and Wave. Wave of course does the swimwear version. Should provide a healthy DFC counter-balance to the sheer mass of oppai from my current army of Yokos.

upLark Rei Ayanami in her plugsuit sitting in an Entry Plug diorama. My first Evangelion figure. Somehow I’ve avoided picking up any EVA figures till now, but that entry plug stand is just too cool, plus I’m psyched for Evangelion 2.0: You Can [not] Advance.

Hopefully I’ll be getting this package in a few days, whereupon I shall do another update. After that though is anyone’s guess as to how often I will update, as this school semester is kicking into full gear, and work is busy as always. Plus that pesky urge to play video games always crops up whenever I have free time.

3 Responses to Get Around, Get Around, I Get Around (To Updating)

  1. Guy says:

    Saw you around the net, so wondered when you’ll pop up and update 😉

    This plug-Rei, at least it’s not the over a foot long full plug with tiny-tiny Rei in it 😉

    Go both young and adult Nia 🙂 I always thought there should be much more Nia figures, you know?

    And I want infra-red goggles 😉
    I can tell you why they only have (not only, but these days mostly) limited editions to consoles for games released both for PC and consoles: Those who play games with their PC will play them with their PC. This, however, is an attempt to try and get people to pick up their console. Many people pick up a console when it gets a high-profile exclusive game, but as exclusive games become rarer, and just in case someone has both consoles, they release exclusives to the consoles.

    It comes out of their potential profit, I suspect.

  2. Tommy says:

    That’s a nice dose of lootage you’re getting. Nice to know what you’ve been up to.

    Isn’t that their idea? They know we’ll play on our PC gaming machine, that’s why they make the limited editions for platforms only so you’ll buy it for the goodies. 😛

  3. Tommy says:

    Happy New Years. Hope you’re doing well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

