E2046 Gathering C.C.

From e2046 and The Gathering comes this pre-painted resin kit of C.C. from Code Geass in her straight jacket attire after she emerges from the gas capsule from the first few episodes of the first season. As there is a serious lack of C.C. figures both in the wild and in my collection, as I only have the Alpha-Omega C.C. and the Banpresto Ichiban Kuji C.C. as my only manufactured PVC figures of her, and a different pre-painted resin kit of her as well, I immediately jumped on this pre-order of Gathering’s version of her. Although some of e2046’s figures seem to be resin kit copies of pre-existing figure designs (read: bootlegs), this C.C. looked fairly unique, and the figure itself was of a high quality sculpt and paintwork.

The base that comes with the figure is fairly unique as well.

C.C.’s trademark green hair is really detailed in the sculpt here. Her face is a tad off though, maybe its the lips?

I’m sort of getting the effect that C.C. is crying here, there seems to be tears welling in her eyes. If it’s unintentional, its still a pretty cool effect.

Her arms put her oppai in a nice squeeze here.

Got a nice body too, the straight jacket is also very detailed with creases in the attire, and the outline of her bellybutton as well.

Her hair is also very detailed from the back.

From behind, and you can also see more of the unique base that she comes with.

More details in the hands from behind, as well as C.C.’s fine bum. The nails look like they’ve been polished.

From the side, you can see that she is propped up by a transparent beam that is going into her right leg.

A closer shot of her legs.

Although this is a pre-painted resin kit, there was very little assembly involved, as I just had to mount the figure on the beam, put the head in, and then mount the struts on the sides of the base. This was my first Gathering figure as well, and I am very impressed with the quality of the figure, and the detail of the sculpt and paintwork. I wish I had the time to invest in doing my own garage kit figure building, but still being able to get my hands on a unique figure like this is a nice consolation, and kudos to Gathering and e2046 for releasing this version of C.C.

15 Responses to E2046 Gathering C.C.

  1. Guy says:

    Two things:

    1. How can a resin kit truly be “bootleg”? It’s mostly about the painting, besides, what if a circle made the resin kit as well?

    2. I think her face is more than slightly off, the composition, the eyelash, the cheeks… but it’s ok, because the rest of the figure is pretty spectacular.

    • Lelouch says:

      E2046 asked permission to paint that figure. Never pay the copyright fee.

      Their quality is not bootlegish but the way they cheat the figure companies out of their money is considered bootlegging.

      Think about the fairness. While other sculptors have to pay certain fee to sell their figures, E2046 never paid anything. I don’t respect a company that doesn’t respect this hobby.
      They never respect the person behind the sculpting or consider asking him/her –“Oh, do I have a permission to make a recast of your figure?”

      I know a lot of people are desperate so they turn the other way and be in denial. I don’t blame them.^^

      • I’m not sure about the Japanese licensing system for figures, but do most Garage Kit makers also obtain licenses for the figures of trademarked characters they sell?

        Since it seems multiple figure companies can obtain the same license to produce figures for the same series/trademarks, does the specific figure design (pose, outfit, etc) get copyrighted for that company then? So even if Alter and GSC both have the Haruhi license for example, they can’t make the same Haruhi figure in the same pose in the same attire?

        Also, the preview pics didn’t really give a good shot of her face, so that was a gamble.

      • Guy says:

        I’m not sure I’m following.

        What did they do, make a mold and recast an existing figure, or did they sculpt a figure from the beginning?

      • FSF says:

        @paradigmshift,

        The vast majority of figure circles that propagate Wonder Festival and other open entrance events DO NOT (there is much misconception about this, so forgive my cruise control), DO NOT pay licensing fees for their creations. The same goes for doujinshi circles at Comiket. They only pay registration and booth fees.

        The Japanese term that has come to describe this is “Anmoku no Ryokai” or the Unspoken Agreement. The property owners literally look the other way so long as certain “unspoken” rules are not broken. Those include the circles not profiting TOO heavily, attention not being taken away from the original property, and many others.

        That being said, some companies, like Gainax (who has always had a foot in the GK door), have avenues that accommodate figure circles by handing out small “part-time” licenses to sell Gurren Lagann GKs, for example. This whole process is basically insurance for circles who are worried about breaking any rules or laws and they aren’t overly bound by it. Of course, WonFes conduct is constantly changing and so are federal laws that deal with Creative Commons structure.

        Now, this whole process is completely different for established figure companies and manufactures who require a license. To address your question about 2 different companies obtaining the same sculpt, that is weeded out when the process of mass production takes place. For example, say a circle creates a Yoko GK at Wonder Festival. Wave Corporation comes over and says “Hey, can we make a PVC of that?” with the response “Sure!” from the circle, then Wave MUST obtain a license of the character featured in that GK. Usually, credit is also given to the original circle or sculptor. Once this takes place, Wave OWNS that sculpt and the finished PVC product.

        It is almost impossible for two different companies to create the same exact sculpt through in-house production. In fact, in-house production is increasingly rare; most companies do not hire multiple sculptors but instead pick and choose preexisting figures from the GK market. There are also constant talks between companies (like Alter and GSC as you mentioned, who sometimes work together) about what they’re planning. The whole industry is very multifaceted and there’s no way I can do complete justice to it through any attempt at explaining everything like this.

        As for Guy’s original first question: There is no such thing as a bootleg garage kit, only a bootleg OF a garage kit, which e2046’s “The Gathering” is not. I cannot speak for them entirely, and better information could probably be obtained if you requested it via e-mail, but e2064 purchases and completes garage kits for resale via The Gathering. They do not create bootlegs of them. What you’re paying for is an assembled, pre-painted “official” GK.

      • Whoa, that was an interesting read. Thanks for taking the time to put all that up there. Sometimes I wish that the U.S. had that Unspoken Agreement here between license owners and freelance creators. Although I wish it would be applied to video games and mods instead. It seems that too many of the big companies get sue happy when somebody makes a free mod for a game that uses their licenses.

        I wonder what sort of royalties the original creators of the GK get when a large PVC maker uses the design.

  2. optic says:

    I’m with Guy, the face does look off.
    I’ve seen many reviews on their resin kits and there’s nothing but good feedback each time. But still, I’m still attached to PVC’s and I’m not quite ready to make the jump to resin kits. I don’t I will ever be. :s

    • Yeah, this resin kit seemed a little bit more delicate than the most of the PVC figures I have. I used a considerable greater deal of care when mounting the figure on the base and putting her head in. I only have 2 other resin kits in my collection, and I have to be extra careful when cleaning them.

  3. T.I.P. says:

    It’s a very nice figure to say the least. I love how the pose highlight C.C.’s sexy curves. I haven’t watch the first season of Code Geass, so I’m not too sure how much she differs from R2, but her eyes looks a little “too sad”.

    • I’m a little hazy on this, but I do think C.C. was crying in one of the openings of the first season while wearing this specific attire, so perhaps that was the motif they were shooting for in this figure?

  4. Wolfheinrich says:

    I am a big fan of the Gathering series as well because 90% of the time they produce finished product with higher quality than PVC figures. With that said, I don’t know if I like the facial expression of this CC, otherwise, everything else looks pretty good to me.

    • There is also that handcrafted vibe to these figures as well, that somebody put their time and hard work into creating this figure, rather than a mass produced figure produced through molds and assembly lines. I have a Gathering Haruhi as well (the one in her bunny suit giving a thumbs up while holding her guitar), and it is probably my favorite Haruhi figure in my collection.

  5. Ninjovee says:

    The first thing I have to say is that… I do not like her face D: It looked like she grew much older (and as those who watched CG know, she doesn’t get old). I also think her hands look manly at some angles ><;. My favorite aspects of the figure would be her hair, lower body and her pose.

    Also, is it okay to add you to my blogroll? ^^

    • haha, manly hands. I think I’m bothered more by the nail polished look of the fingers though. Of course I would like to be added to your blogroll. Blogrolled you as well.

      • Ninjovee says:

        I think that pink fingernails are a bit more realistic… but the way they painted it makes it look like CC had nail polish instead.

        Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! ^_^ *bows*

Leave a Reply

